David Hockney Portraits

My Parents – David Hockney

The Conversation – Jasmine Gauthier
https://jasminegauthier.wordpress.com/2009/11/24/the-conversation/

As I was leaving the Tate Britain, this painting by hockney caught my eye. I had forgotten how much I love his compositions in his portraits of friends & family in interiors. This painting above has many similarities to a piece of work I took a few months ago of my grandparents, commenting on the relationship between them and to their homespace. This made me realise that I want to go back to some of the ideas/thoughts I was thinking of there, to inspire my new set of family portraits. I have collected some of my favourite of Hockney’s portraits as a gathering of visual inspiration. The quietness but yet the unique characters in each painting are what makes them so intriguing.




Leave a Reply

