Final FMP Photographs + Explanation

On back: Are you Edna?

He’s probably met someone…

Go and let her out.

Just don’t look at him…

The photographs were meant to be part of the experience of my grandparents’ home. Everything about these photographs was created in their home, except the final printing. They are photographs of photographs, so as if I found them in their home. I left the effect of their printer losing ink as well, as it let it become less perfect. I decided to do long exposures of them as I wanted a sense of time in the photographs as I was recording hours and hours of audio to go alongside the prints. This also let me create these one off prints as long exposures are unpredictable and can come up with ‘Happy Accidents’. I chose the text to write on the back from recorded conversations with my family. Each ‘caption’ was selected to suggest a slight narrative in each photograph, which others when asked found the links to be rather sinister. When getting my grandparents to write on the back of the photographs, they were voicing what they thought they were about which was interesting. It was interesting as it was them I was quoting and they did not remember most of the phrases I’d picked out of the hours of audio. The ambiguity in the link between the text & image is based on my family’s reluctance to be open. As if we are always talking in riddles or without context in everyday life. This ambiguity follows through as the words are written on the back, to distance us from the text even moreso. Making us work to realise what is written, walking around it to catch the light and then to read it backwards. I felt it was right to write the words on the back as if the photographs had been found, having been annotated for future reference or to send to someone. This made me want to blow them up larger than life as a twist on these photographs, yet keep them small enough to be personal still.

2 thoughts on “Final FMP Photographs + Explanation

  1. I love them 😀 I especially like the strange cloud-looking things in the first and second ones. Is that a result of the long exposure?

Leave a Reply

